African Forum for Utility Regulators (AFUR)

The African Forum for Utility Regulators (AFUR) focuses on issues related to the regulation of energy,  telecommunications, transport, and water and sanitation industries, with a particular emphasis on issues that are common across sectors.

The objectives of AFUR could be summarized as supporting the development of effective utility regulation in Africa through facilitating the  harmonization of regulatory policies, information exchange and experience lessons among regulators, and capacity building in support of the  socio-economic development of the continent.

AFUR’s vision and objectives are derived from Clause 110 of the NEPAD Framework Document, which recognizes the establishment of the  African Forum for Utility Regulation and regional regulatory associations.

Chair: Mr. Stan Ishmael Chioko, Malawi Energy Regulatory Authority (MERA) – Malawi
Region: Africa
Members: 33 members and 7 observers

  1. Algeria – Commission de Régulation de l’Electricité et du Gaz (CREG)
  2. Cameroon – Electricity Sector Regulatory Agency (ARSEL)
  3. Côte d’Ivoire – National Authority for the Regulation of the Electricity Sector (ANARE)
  4. Côte d’Ivoire  – Agence des Telecommunications de Cote d’Ivoire (ATCI) 
  5. Ghana – Public Utilities Regulatory Commission (PURC)
  6. Ghana – National Communications Authority (NCA)
  7. Kenya – Energy & Petroleum Regulatory Authoriry (Epra)
  8. Kenya – Water Services Regulatory Board (WASREB)
  9. Malawi – Malawi Energy Regulatory Authority (MERA)
  10. Mali – Mali Electricity and Water Regulatory (CREE) 
  11. Namibia – Electricity Control Board (ECB)
  12. Niger – Autorité de Régulation Multisectorielle (ARM)
  13. Nigeria – Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC)
  14. Senegal – Commission de Régulation du Secteur de L’Electricité (CRSE)
  15. South Africa – National Energy Regulator of South Africa (NERSA)
  16. South Africa – Department of Water and Sanitation (DWS)
  17. Tanzania – Energy and Water Utilities Regulatory Authority (EWURA)
  18. The Gambia – The Gambia Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA)
  19. Togo – Autorité de Réglementation du Secteur de l’Electricité (ARSE)
  20. Uganda – Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA)
  21. Zambia – Communications Authority of Zambia (CAZ)
  22. Zambia – Energy Regulation Board (ERB)
  23. Zambia – National Water Supply and Sanitation Council (NWASCO)
  24. Zimbabwe – Zimbabwe Energy Regulatory Authority (ZERA)
  25. Lesotho – Lesotho Electricity and Water Authority (LEWA)
  26. Mauritanie – Autorité de Régulation (ARE)
  27. Ghana – Energy Commission (EC)
  28. Mozambique – Water Regulatory Council (CRA)
  29. Nigeria – Nigerian Communication Commission (NCC)
  31. Tanzania – Surface and Marine Transport Regulatory Authority (SUMATRA)
  32. Cameroon – Agence de Régulation des Marchés Publics (ARMP)
  33. Rwanda – Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA)


  1. Benin – Office of Post and Telecom (OPT)
  2. Cameroon – Agence de Régulation des Télécommunications (ART)
  3. Ethiopia – Ethiopian Electricity Agency (EEA)
  4. Madagascar – Régulation des Marchés et sécurisation des Réseaux (OMERT)
  5. South Africa – Competition Commission (CC)
  6. South Africa – Independent Communication Authority of South Africa (ICASA)
  7. Eswatini – Swaziland Energy Regulatory Authority (SERA)