The Regional Association of Energy Regulators for Eastern and Southern Africa (RAERESA)
The Regional Association of Energy Regulators for Eastern and Southern Africa (RAERESA) was launched in 2010 based on international and regional best practice to address energy challenges facing many COMESA (Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa) countries from a regulatory perspective.
Its main objective is to bring in terms of capacity building and best practices sharing, facilitation of energy supply policy, enhancement of inter-regional cooperation and enhancement of regional energy regulatory cooperation.
RAERESA is also currently engaging with some countries to establish the level of technical support that is required in the process of establishing and enhancing their energy regulatory capacity.
Chair: Mr. Robert Pavel Oimeke
Region: Eastern and Southern Africa
Telephone: (260 – 211) 229725/32
Members: 21
Full members
  1. Agency for Regulation of Water, Electricity and Mining (AREEM)- Burundi
  2. Egyptian Electric Utility and Consumer Protection Regulatory Agency (EgyptERA)
  3. Ethiopian Energy Authority (EEA)- Ethiopia
  4. Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) – Kenya
  5. Office de Regulation Electricite (ORE) – Madagascar
  6. Malawi Energy Regulatory Authority (MERA) – Malawi
  7. Utility Regulatory Authority (URA) – Mauritius
  8. Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority (RURA) – Rwanda
  9. Seychelles Energy Commission (SEC) – Seychelles
  10. Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) – Sudan
  11. Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) – Uganda
  12. Energy Regulation Board (ERB) – Zambia
  13. Zimbabwe Energy Regulatory Authority (ZERA) – Zimbabwe
Associate Members
  1. Comoros
  2. Djibouti
  3. Democratic Republic of Congo
  4. Eritrea
  5. Libya
  6. Somalia
  1. Eswatini Energy Regulatory Authority (ESERA) Eswatini
  2. Tunisia