Energy Regulators Regional Association (ERRA)
The Energy Regulators Regional Association (ERRA) is a voluntary organization comprising of independent energy regulatory bodies primarily from Europe, Asia, Africa, Middle East, South and North America. ERRA began as a cooperative exchange among 12 energy regulatory bodies. The U.S. National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), through a Cooperative Agreement with the US Agency for International Development (USAID), provided technical forums, meetings and study tours for the energy regulators of the above region from 1999-2008. During these meetings, the participants expressed the need for an association similar to NARUC that could offer a more formal platform for exchanging experiences and ideas to better learn from each other’s experiences. In 1999, an ad-hoc Steering Committee began development of the structural and operational elements of the future association, including its purpose and objectives. In December 2000, a Constitution was signed by 15 members that established the ERRA in Bucharest. USAID’s long-term support ensured that ERRA developed into an internationally-recognized association that achieved operational, financial and programmatic sustainability.
Chair: Märt Ots
Region: Europe, Asia, Africa, Middle East, South and North America.
Telephone: +36 1 477 0456
Members: 31 full members, 11 associate members

Full Members:

  1. Albanian Energy Regulatory Authority (ERE) – Albania
  2. Public Services Regulatory Commission (PSRC) – Armenia
  3. Tariff (price) Council (TC) – Azerbaijan
  4. Bhutan Electricity Authority (BEA) – Bhutan
  5. State Electricity Regulatory Commission (SERC) – Bosnia and Herzegovina
  6. Energy and Water Regulatory Commission (EWRC) – Bulgaria
  7. Electricity Sector Regulatory Agency (ARSEL) – Cameroon
  8. Croatian Energy Regulatory Agency (HERA) – Croatia
  9. Estonian Competition Authority (ECA) – Estonia
  10. Georgian National Energy and Water Supply Regulatory Commission (GNERC) – Georgia
  11. Hungarian Energy and Public Utility Regulatory Authority (HEA) – Hungary
  12. Committee on Regulation of Natural Monopolies, Protection of Competition and Consumer Rights under the Ministry of National Economy of the Republic of Kazakhstan – Kazakhstan
  13. State Agency for Fuel and Energy Complex Regulation at the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic – Kyrgyzstan
  14. Public Utilities Commission (PUC) – Latvia
  15. National Commission for Energy Control and Prices (NCC) – Lithuania
  16. Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) – Macedonia
  17. National Energy Regulatory Agency (ANRE) – Moldova
  18. Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) – Mongolia
  19. Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) – Nigeria
  20. Authority for Electricity Regulation (AER) – Oman
  21. National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA) – Pakistan
  22. Palestinian Electricity Regulatory Council (PERC) – Palestina
  23. Energy Regulatory Office (ERO) – Poland
  24. Romanian Energy Regulatory Authority (ANRE) – Romania
  25. Federal Antimonopoly Service (FAS) – Russian Federation
  26. Electricity & Cogeneration Regulatory Authority (ECRA) – Saudi Arabia
  27. Energy Agency of the Republic of Serbia (AERS) – Serbia
  28. Regulatory Office for Network Industries (ÚRSO) – Slovakia
  29. Energy Market Regulatory Authority (EMRA) – Turkey
  30. National Energy and Utilities Regulatory Commission (NEURC) – Ukraine
  31. Regulatory and Supervisory Bureau for Electricity and Water of Dubai (RSB) – United Arab Emirates

Associate members:

  1. Azerbaijan Energy Regulatory Agency (AERA) – Azerbaijan
  2. Regulatory Commission for Energy of Republika Srpska (RERS) – Bosnia and Herzegovina
  3. Regulatory Commission for Energy in Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FERK) – Bosnia and Herzegovina
  4. ECOWAS Regional Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERERA) 
  5. Gas Regulatory Authority (GASREG) – Egypt
  6. Public Utilities Regulatory Commission (PURC) – Ghana
  7. Energy and Mineral Regulatory Commission (EMRC) – Jordan
  8. Energy Regulatory Office (ERO) – Kosovo *
    (*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence.)
  9. Peru’s Regulatory Agency for Investment in Energy and Mining (Osinergmin) – Peru
  10. National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) – USA